cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

CiscoWorks LMS 3.2 Java 1.0.6_11 will not run on Windows 2003 server

DOUG REISS
Level 1
Level 1

On a server running Windows 2003, the required version of Java bundled with LMS 3.2 will not run.  A persistent standard message is received requesting that Java 1.6.0_11 be installed.  The Java has been uninstalled (via Control Panel) with the Daemon Manager halted, and Java re-installed,  on the C: or D: drive, yet the page requesting installation of the Java is still received.  {Currently, the Java is installed on the D: drive, which also hosts the CSCOpx files----the application itself}.  Could it be a permissions problem?  I will work with a remote Systems Administrator to find out if the installation requires higher level permissions than the server administrator tomorrow, if possible to attempt to resolve this.   I am an administrator on my laptop PC, from which I can download, install and run the desired Java above successfully, and all Campus Manager functions work fine.  The most recent available upgrades to CM and to RME were installed in the past few weeks, and bugs with those were resolved, as well as installation of UTU 2.0, all of which work fine with the exception of Topology Services.  An attachement cannot upload due to "forbidden content"---probably HTML links.  The Java console is enabled on the server, but the console window does not open and thereby provide error messages.  JRM.log was checked for errors and problems, and none have been found so far.  A TAC case will be opened if advisable.

12 Replies 12

Joe Clarke
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

What other versions of Java are installed on the server?  What browser are you using on the server?  Have you tried using LMS from a different (perhaps fresh) account on the server?

Joe: 1) All other version of Java were removed from the server (un-uploadable file contained t