Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

END TO END QOS FOR L2 AND L3 ON LARGE N/W

Dear All,

I am plannig to apply End to End QOS (L2 and L3) on a Large Network Path that is having many hops. I am new in the QOS field. Please find the attached diagram for your information. I have the following strategy;

1: Identify all the Voice traffic via Access-list and Class Map

2: Tag/Mark the voice traffic with dscp value 46 and prioritise this traffic inside Policy map.

3: Now on each uplink, get the traffic which has dscp value 46, and prioritise it.

Please find the attached sample configuration in note pad.

I have the below confussions;

1: Some devices on the path suppose 3750 is not supporting the priority command inside policy map.

What should i do with it?

2: Should i apply the service policy on outbound direction or inbound direction.

3: Do i need to apply the QOS policy on all the links(uplink, downlink) which is mentioned in the diagram.

4: Is the Voice traffic uni directional or bi-directional. I mean to say, do i only need to apply QOS on links from IP Phone to IPT server or also from IPT Server to IP Phone?

Waiting for your suggestion;

2 Replies 2

Abu Hadee
Level 3
Level 3

Hi

I'm attaching the QoS SRND ( i can't seem to find the web link)

1: Some devices on the path suppose 3750 is not supporting the  priority command inside policy map.

What should i do with it?

[Abu] - Are you using those 3750 as Layer3 too? If not, you can use regular L2 QoS

2:  Should i apply the service policy on outbound direction or inbound  direction.

[Abu] - On switching you should apply both inbound and outbound QoS. For WAN router, you can only use outbound QoS. But if you suspect that Provider may change the DSCP values, you may want to check and rewrite the DSCP Values

3: Do i need to apply the QOS policy on all the  links(uplink, downlink) which is mentioned in the diagram.

[Abu] - See above