DMM administrator role only retains superuser post restart

Answered Question
May 16th, 2010
User Badges:

Hi All,


I'm currently running DMM version 5.1 and use LDAP authentication to access the DMM.  I currently have 3 users defined in the Admin role, myself and two others.


Whenever I perform a restart of the DMM (Using Administration interface, Services tab, then clicking on Options, Restart Server), all administrators from the Admin role disappear and none of the administrators can log on with their own credentials but rather have to use the 'superuser' account until I re-add all into the Admin role.


Does anyone have the same issue and how do you resolve it?


Thank you


Cheers

Linda

Correct Answer by Tomas De Leon about 7 years 1 week ago

Linda,


My apologies.


This is a known issue:


CSCta11809 - DMM: User Role changes from ADMIN to READ ONLY (LDAP)


The issue has been fixed in DMS 5.2.  Briefly the problem occurs when the DMM

synchronizes with the LDAP server and there have been changes to the LDAP users.

As a result the DMM removes the admin users from the admin role list.


I have tested this in 5.2 and it is resolved.


There is no real workaround for this.  If you can not upgrade at this time, you can minimalize

the effect by either doing manual LDAP synchronization or schedule longer intervals between

synchronization which may require some role fixing after the synchronization.




If this answers your question, Please take time to mark this
discussion answered & rate the response.

Thank You!

T.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Overall Rating: 5 (1 ratings)
Loading.
Correct Answer
Tomas De Leon Mon, 05/17/2010 - 04:07
User Badges:
  • Cisco Employee,

Linda,


My apologies.


This is a known issue:


CSCta11809 - DMM: User Role changes from ADMIN to READ ONLY (LDAP)


The issue has been fixed in DMS 5.2.  Briefly the problem occurs when the DMM

synchronizes with the LDAP server and there have been changes to the LDAP users.

As a result the DMM removes the admin users from the admin role list.


I have tested this in 5.2 and it is resolved.


There is no real workaround for this.  If you can not upgrade at this time, you can minimalize

the effect by either doing manual LDAP synchronization or schedule longer intervals between

synchronization which may require some role fixing after the synchronization.




If this answers your question, Please take time to mark this
discussion answered & rate the response.

Thank You!

T.
lindam005 Mon, 05/17/2010 - 18:18
User Badges:

Thank you Tomas.


We are hoping to upgrade to version 5.2 this Thursday so hopefully this issue will be resolved as you stated.


Many thanks


Linda

Actions

This Discussion