cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

What is forwarding bandwidth : 2960-S switch

cplanet
Level 1
Level 1

According to catalog of 2906-S, Fowarding Bandwidth is 88 Gbps.

I think switching bandwidth may means switch backplane but I have no idea of forwarding bandwidth.

Woud you please let me know what is forwarding bandwidth or referece document ?

Thanks.

2 Replies 2

Michael Hutt
Level 1
Level 1

I was looking at this myself.  I'm no expert, but it seems like the term "Switching bandwidth" refers to the amount of data that can be pumped through the switching plane, and that "Forwarding Bandwidth" actually refers to the amount of data that can be forwarded out interfaces.  These numbers are probably based on optimal conditions.

Maybe a full stack of 2960-S switches can achieve 176 Gbps total switching bandwidth (FDx), but each switch can only forward up to 32 Gbps out its interfaces.  The number given for forwarding bandwidth isn't specified full or half duplex, so I assume it's measured only as half duplex.  Each stack member would have a 20 Gbps link with the rest of the stack, which would limit cross-stack forwarding to ~20 Gbps.

Maybe someone else can tell me if that's on the mark or not, I'd like to know the real story behind these numbers too...

P.S. sorry bout the Necropost, but this post came up on google and I thought it was worth it to find an answer to this

p-miranda
Level 1
Level 1

Hi friends ...

This topic is very ethereal and datasheets from Cisco are only marketing, words are very tricky ... don´t let them confuse you.

Till now, Cisco have not answered this question.