cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Switch stops sending ICMP requests after 4 hrs

jhussey
Level 1
Level 1

We have been having an issue with our Catalyst 3560 switch running IOS 12.2(37) where the devices plugged into it can run a continuous ping without issue within the same VLAN fine but when we disconnect the CSU connection from the router the switch stops sending ICMP requests to the devices only after 4 hrs.  The result is the devices start to get a "request timeout" message where they were working just fine for 3 hr and 59 minutes.  It seems like this issue happens right at the 4 hr mark and you can set your watch to it. 

Can someone tell me what part of the switch config could be causing this to happen?  I am new to Networking so they tasked me with trying to figure out this problem.    

Part of the config that I think look suspicious is the "mac-address-table aging-time" settings.  I have taken part of the config out to share with you and want to know if this is a problem or not.

mac-address-table notification
mac-address-table aging-time 0
mac-address-table aging-time 0 vlan 1
mac-address-table aging-time 0 vlan 2
mac-address-table aging-time 0 vlan 3

Any help would be appreciated.

CM

9 Replies 9

ericn8484_2
Level 1
Level 1

Well first what are you pinging? Another PC within the same switch on the same VLAN?

Second, are you using DHCP? If you have a 4 hour expiration on your DHCP leases and you drop connectivity to the DHCP server, you will lose your IP address.

The two devices I am working with are Windows pc's that have static IP addresses.  We do have DHCP setup for other devices off the switch in the same that same VLAN and I could understand the DHCP removing the ip address after 4 hrs for those devices but if the two devices I am working with are static why would it still fail?

Just as a test I took the two devices and put them on a hub and they were able to ping for 24 hrs straight so I know its not the TCP/IP stack on the devices or the NICs.