Views
Helpful
Replies

T-CCS alternative

Jonn cos
Level 4
Level 4

Dear experts.

I have (at location A) voice PRI (from local telco) terminating on a modem. That modem is in turn connected to E1 controller in router 2821. This router 2821 is connected via Fiber link to my another router 3845 (different location B). From 3845 E1 controller card is connected to our call center server. Our support staff is located at location B. This diagram is like below

Telco-----------modem-----------------------(E1)2821(Fa0/0)--------------Fiber------------------------(Fa0/0)3845(E1)---------------------Server(IVR/CRM)

Now my friend has done the setup and its working for months now. After asking a voice consultant we used TCCS. He told us to look into Cvoice 4.0. I am new to my voice studies. I am using Cvoice 6.0 and TCCS is not there !!.

So i am just confused that did cisco developed some alternative of T-CCS ? like in above scenario, we need to pass that telco signalling transparently to location B server right ? so is T-CCS the only way ? or i can use some other method ?

This is just for my knowlegde base, kindly share your expertise as to what other methods could be used here.

6 Replies 6

Jonn cos
Level 4
Level 4

Any one pls ?

Can someone pls tell me, can i do the same setup without using T-CCS ?

Pls someone help me out

T-CCS basically tunnels HDLC frames across IP or frame-relay networks so in your case from the PBX perspective the ISDN PRI line appears to be at the same site.

I have not seen this feature used much and so cannot really state how well it works from experience.

An alternative option would be to IP enable the PBX either by purchasing the manufacturers IP card (if available) or by using a Cisco router with an E1 card to connect to an E1 port on the PBX. You would keep the 2800 series router connection the ISDN PRI but set it up to use H.323 to talk to the now ip-enabled PBX across the IP network.