Wireless Controllers Question

Unanswered Question
Jun 2nd, 2010
User Badges:

Hello Guys -

I am fairly new to wireless and need some clarification on the different wireless controller options avilable from Cisco.

If I need to support 25 LWAPP AP's, then what specific controller series (4000 or 2000) should I go with?

4000 is much more expensive, but I haven't been able to spot too may differences between the two series.

I know 4000 is Gigabit Ethernet and 2000 is Fast Ethernet, 4000 offers redundant power supply, and 2000 does not. But other than this, are there any other big glaring diffferences between the two?

Also, from what I have read, you only need WCS when using multiple WLC's. But if I have only 1 WLC, then I wouldn't need WCS. Is that correct?

Any help would be appreciated.

Thank you. 

Overall Rating: 0 (0 ratings)
Leo Laohoo Wed, 06/02/2010 - 15:29
User Badges:
  • Super Gold, 25000 points or more
  • Hall of Fame,

The Hall of Fame designation is a lifetime achievement award based on significant overall achievements in the community. 

• Cisco Designated VIP,

2017 LAN, Wireless

If I need to support 25 LWAPP AP's, then what specific controller series (4000 or 2000) should I go with?

You have a number of choices:

1.  WLC 2100;

2.  WLC 4400;

3.  WLC 5508;

4.  3750G (standard PoE) with integrated WLC (25 and 50 AP); and

5.  Cisco ISR with WLC network module

In my personal opinion, if you need to support up to 25 APs, you should be aiming for  the 50 AP support (for growth).  Which means that the 2100, 4402-50, the 3750G and the 5508 is a prime candidate.  (Note:  I'm not familiar with option #5 so I'm not going to get myself run-over by people who know more than I do.  )

Next question:  DO you need specific features like OfficeExtend and Wireless Plus?  These are a few specific functions that are specialized by the 5508 only.  If you don't need this then you have the 2100, 4402-50, and 3750G.