cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

I cant't access the switch (3560g), why?

costasanti
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I planned to create several VLANs and route them using our Cisco 3560G. I'm new to Cisco (sadly). When I were using the Cisco Network Assistant to manage the network, we only have one 3560g (24 port) and a couple of 2960G (8 ports). I changed the subnet of everything in the network to a non typical one (ie 192.168.201.0/24). After changing all the computers and the router, I thought I had to change the switch IP adress to the 198.168.201.254 (it was 192.168.1.254 before). After chnaging the IP of the switch, I created a couple of VLANs and assigned them to two ports (for testing purposes), the first port it was mine, and the second one it was a NAS disk. Well, after that I never managed to get into the switch again, I can't even ping it from the same subnet, I changed my cable to a different port but I can't ping or log in into the switch... what can be happening?, I'm sorry if this is a too noob question...

Does my switch remember that I was assignet to a different VLAN (he remember the MAC address of something?)

Have a nice day !

3 Replies 3

kellycpp
Level 1
Level 1

I'm relatively new to networking but isn't the address you gave for the switch on a different network than the 192.168.201.0 one?  Perhaps this is a typo but it would seem that 198.168.201.0/24 is a different network and will not be able to make a connection from any of the nodes on the 192 net (not even a ping).  If the switch were addressed (Vlan1) as 192.168.201.254, would this not make a connection? 

My suggestion seems to be incorrect because you said you were able to access the switch to perform two additional VLAN assignments before the switch "disappeared" and this is the puzzling part.  How additional VLAN assignments could disable communications with the device if the Vlan1 assignment is correct is indeed challenging.