cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

2960 switchport trunk

fasteddye
Level 1
Level 1

I am connecting a 2960-24LT-L to a 3750 via a Gigabit Ethernet port.  I have run the cisco-switch macro on my 2960 and I noticed it did not put the encapsulation dot1q after the switchport mode trunk command.  The Gigabit Ethernet port on the 3750 that I am uplinking to, does have the encapsulation dot1q after the switchport mode trunk command.  Do I need to add that to the 2960 port?  Could someone help explain the meaning behind the encapsulation dot1q as well?

Also on the 2960, when you attempt to bring up web interface, it repeatidly asks for user credentials over and over.  It does not state that you are entering incorrect login.

Thanks in advance.

6 Replies 6

Mike Hendriks
Level 1
Level 1

I'm no expert with 2960s, but I recall that the older 2950s used to only support 802.1q as the only option for a trunking protocol.  The 3750 may also support the Cisco proprietary ISL trunking protocol, which is why the distinction is made in the configuration on the 3750.

As for the web interface, it sounds certainly like you're not entering the right credentials.  I don't know the defaults for a 2960, but it could be 'cisco' and 'cisco'.

Hope that helps.

3750 is the router correct?

With the 2960 on the interface that your trunking your not going to do the encap dot1q command.

You need to do the switchport mode trunk

------

(config-int)#switchport mode trunk

------

that script does not sound right. encap dot1q I thought was only for routers to encapsulate the traffic as 802.1q?

Also, did you set up the line vty 0 4 password? for the GUI?

The 3750 it is uplinking to is just an edge switch at Layer 2.  That 3750 then is a direct connect to our 6509 core.  I used the macro apply cisco-switch command on the 2960 GI0/1 interface and it did set the interface to switchport mode trunk.