Cisco Unity Voicemail Retention

Answered Question
Jun 8th, 2010

Hi!

We are running Unity version = 7.0(2.0) and I was wondering if there is a setting for deleting saved voicemails.

Also, I ran into an issue where someone is deleting voicemail and they are staying in a deleted items bin....How can we purge these?

Thanks!

I have this problem too.
0 votes
Correct Answer by rob.huffman about 6 years 5 months ago

Hi there,

Just to add to Bill's excellent post (+5 Bill

You may want to check into the "deleted" message settings as well;

1. Go to the Unity System Admin page.
2. Click Subscribers.
3. Select the subscriber from the Class of Service list, and click View.
4. Click the Messages link on the Class of Service page.
5. Check Deleted messages are copied to the deleted items folder. If this option is not checked, there
is no way to restore a lost message. If this option was checked, you can create a Microsoft Outlook
account for that subscriber in the Unity Server, and then the messages will appear in the Deleted Items
folder.

Note: The hard disk on the server where messages are stored can quickly run out of space when
deleted messages are saved. Therefore, Cisco recommends that you do not enable this feature for
every subscriber.

http://cisco.biz/application/pdf/paws/68979/recover-period-unity.pdf

Cheers!
Rob

Please support CSC Helps Haiti

https://supportforums.cisco.com/docs/DOC-8895

https://supportforums.cisco.com/docs/DOC-8727

Correct Answer by William Bell about 6 years 5 months ago

You may want to look at message aging policies:

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/voice_ip_comm/connection/7x/administration/guide/7xcucsag190.html#wp1050845

Yes, when a message is deleted, it is moved to a deleted items folder by default.  Users can purge the deleted items folder manually or you can use the message aging policies.

Note that there is no audio prompt played to a user to inform them that a message is going to be deleted because it has passed the aging policy threshold.

HTH.


Regards,
Bill

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Overall Rating: 5 (3 ratings)
Loading.
Correct Answer
William Bell Tue, 06/08/2010 - 11:55

You may want to look at message aging policies:

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/voice_ip_comm/connection/7x/administration/guide/7xcucsag190.html#wp1050845

Yes, when a message is deleted, it is moved to a deleted items folder by default.  Users can purge the deleted items folder manually or you can use the message aging policies.

Note that there is no audio prompt played to a user to inform them that a message is going to be deleted because it has passed the aging policy threshold.

HTH.


Regards,
Bill

Correct Answer
rob.huffman Tue, 06/08/2010 - 12:07

Hi there,

Just to add to Bill's excellent post (+5 Bill

You may want to check into the "deleted" message settings as well;

1. Go to the Unity System Admin page.
2. Click Subscribers.
3. Select the subscriber from the Class of Service list, and click View.
4. Click the Messages link on the Class of Service page.
5. Check Deleted messages are copied to the deleted items folder. If this option is not checked, there
is no way to restore a lost message. If this option was checked, you can create a Microsoft Outlook
account for that subscriber in the Unity Server, and then the messages will appear in the Deleted Items
folder.

Note: The hard disk on the server where messages are stored can quickly run out of space when
deleted messages are saved. Therefore, Cisco recommends that you do not enable this feature for
every subscriber.

http://cisco.biz/application/pdf/paws/68979/recover-period-unity.pdf

Cheers!
Rob

Please support CSC Helps Haiti

https://supportforums.cisco.com/docs/DOC-8895

https://supportforums.cisco.com/docs/DOC-8727

nixon1234 Tue, 06/08/2010 - 12:15

Perfect!!  I knew I saw that setting somewhere!

Thanks Bill and Rob!

Actions

This Discussion