Views
Helpful
Replies

IP Telephony design questions

coletemple
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I am planning to deploy 4 small sites (50 to 65 users each) and interconnect them for IP telephony.

What came in my mind was to use ISR routers with CCME software on each site and provide unity for voice mail feature as well, on each site.

The only problem I am having is how all the sites will be able to communicate ? does CCME routers registers between each other and keep a centralized database of all the users of the 4 sites ? That would be great for me as I want a user going from site 1 to site 2 to be able to just connect its laptop and gets its number and environnement like he was at his location (using a softphone installed on his laptop)....

Any hint about this design would be helpful as I am quite new in Cisco IP Telephony.

Can someone suggest another simple way to have a design to solve problem of :

1- mobility of users between sites (they can keep their existing environment)

2- survivability of a site when connection to the other site is lost (users of the same site can call each other)

thanks

13 Replies 13

Jaime Valencia
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

No, CME are standalone devices and they do not share the configuration with each other.

You can call between each other by configuring the necessary dial peers or using a GK.

If money is not a problem you could use a CUCMBE and use SRST on each site.

This would be a centralized model.

HTH

java

If this helps, please rate

www.cisco.com/go/pdihelpdesk

HTH

java

if this helps, please rate

Thanks Java for the guidance.

I've been reading on cisco about the CUCMBE and its seems to be the answer for me. I still have some questions about the desing since I couldn't get everything sorted on my head: