Views
Helpful
Replies

Avaya IPOffice 500 and Cisco Gateway

alexserstjuk
Level 1
Level 1

Hello All,

This is my first time doing integration between  Cisco and Avaya . I am integrating an Avaya IP Office 500 with Cisco Call Manager v 7 . I have a 2911 GW . All on the same side . At the moment Avaya IP Office 500 connect to PRI line . The plan is use Cisco 2911 gateway for Voice service provider connection and connect Avaya box to second E1 card on Cisco 2911 gateway . Configured on CM the port connected to PBX with MGCP , but controller still down , cable for connection tested in lab between cisco gateways  E1 to E1 conection . What should be configured on CM MGCP Gateway port setting for this type of connection ? Any configuration should be done on Avaya or i can use current configuration for PRI line ? Thanks for answers ! Alex

11 Replies 11

Hi, can you post your router configuration (highlighted on controller and voice serial ports configs) and 'sh isdn status' output? Also a short description on what you have done on CUCM?

hi , i have no connection to site at the moment - but i remember that isdn status was DEACTIVATED , on call manager i  was configured  MGCP gateway , it showed ip address of the gateway and unregistred , i tried different protocols setting - but not get registration of the gateway on call manager . Regards Alex

James Hawkins
Level 8
Level 8

With PRI connections one device has to be the network side and the other the user side. The network side would typically provide clocking.

If the E1 on the Avaya was previously used to connect to the PSTN it will be configured as a user device so you need to set the Cisco router up as a network device using the commands below:

interface Serial0/0/0:15
 no ip address
 isdn protocol-emulate network
 isdn switch-type ??????
 no cdp enable

You will also need to tell the E1 controller to use an internal clock as shown below:

controller E1 0/0/0
 clock source internal