cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Is Cisco 2821 with 512MB memory capable of handling full BGP routes?

jackawang
Level 5
Level 5

I am working on  BGP project which gives us ISP redundancy. We’ll have two Cisco 2821 routers connected to two different ISP's router respectively. The 2821 routers have 512MB of DRAM. The router will not do any CPU or memory intensive processing except dedicated BGP routing. My question is that is the 2821 router capable of handling full BGP routes?

I have done some research online as well as on this forum. Some say yes and others say no. The posts were also couple of years old. I'm wondering if anyone are running full routes on the 2821 or have seen networks doing the same? Any input would be appreciated.

6 Replies 6

Hi,

I'm no BGP expert, but I've only seen full Internet routing table on some 7600s or higher.

I don't think you can do this with 2800s (or even 3800s)

Federico.

Thanks for your reply, Federico.

That's was my initial thought also because all I've seen was 7200s and 7600's running BGP. But nowadays newer 2800 and 3800 routers are built so efficient that Cisco is stating it can run BGP without problem if it meets the memory requirement.  Unlike an ISP network, my setup will not become a transit of AS cloud. That makes think it might be possible running full routes on the existing 2821. I just wanted to see if anyone here have seen a similar setup running in production. Maybe it is just impossible.

Hello Jack,

memory is only  one component to build a router capable of receiving a full BGP table also a powerful CPU is needed or the device will stay with cpu at 100% for half an hour to all time in the worst case.

So even if a C2821 can have 512 MB of RAM it is not recommended to use it to receive 320,000 BGP routes.

Also the IOS code running on a C2821 has not been tested with full BGP tables leaving space to possible problems