Views
Helpful
Replies

Securing my SIP trunk with CUBE

marius_vt
Level 1
Level 1

Hi Guys

I recently started looking at breaking out via SIP to my SP for my voice calls.

The first question that popped up is how would I secure my internal network from my SP network.

Since they supply me with and IP and if their network got compromised or some not so friendly staff would be able to connect to my network.

Sure one can setup some ACL's and so forth but I want to know what is best practice.

I did some reading spoke to some guys and they say a session border controller is the way to go.

Found some documents regarding how to set it up but nothing that explains the security aspects.

I must say I am not a expert in the field.

Could I ask if  someone has done this setup before to please guide me as to what needs to be done.

Any help is much appreciated

Regards

4 Replies 4

Jason Burns
Level 1
Level 1

Marius,

I assume you're using CUCM and want to put the CUBE in place to interface with the Service Provider. When you do that it means that as far as the Service Provider is concerned all voice calls are being sourced from the IP of the CUBE. Anyone in the SP network would see only the IP address and port range of the CUBE.

This means you could put a firewall in front of this device and only allow inbound voice calls to the CUBE, and disallow all voice calls to any non CUBE IP from the outside world. You could also put digest authentication between the CUBE and the Service Provider so only calls that use the agreed upon authentication can succeed.

If the Service Provider allows, it would also be possible to setup TLS using certificates between the CUBE and the SP, but I don't believe this is as common. It would involve some work from the provider to trust your CUBE certificate, and you to configure the CUBE to trust theirs.

Let me know if this helps.

Nick.Britt_2
Level 1
Level 1