SubFlow best practice advice please

Answered Question
Jun 23rd, 2010
User Badges:

I am new to IPCCX scripting and would like some advice on whether multiple SubFlows are a good idea.

We have 16 small Call Centers that all have very basic scripts. I plan on adding a Holiday/Emergency Closure SubFlow to all of them and I would like to add a few additional features as well.

I plan on adding:

·         Position in Queue

·         Expected Wait Time

·         If more than X number of callers in queue, inform the caller that they cannot be helped at this time and to call back later.

·         If Expected Wait Time exceeds closing time, inform the caller that they cannot be helped at this time and to call back later.

(I know the last two sound pretty harsh, but it’s government, and there is no budget to hire more operators. I think it is better to let the callers know early that they need to call back, than to have them wait for two hours just to be disconnected. And no, this is NOT the 911 call center!!!   LOL)

My questions are:

Would it be ok to add each feature as a SubFlow? Or could there possibly be performance or other issues by having so many SubFlows in one script.

My other option is to add each item internal to each script, but that would be a lot to tackle 16 times…

Lastly, is there a best practice on how short a script should be for performance? I know you can’t have one that is longer than 1000 steps, but should I try to keep the step count below a certain number?

Any advice or insights would be greatly appreciated…

Thanks,

Doug.

Correct Answer by Anthony Holloway about 6 years 10 months ago

You have been given some good advice, but I feel like your question went unanswered.

So, in my opinion is... yes, put all that common scripting into Subflows, and leverage them.  This is exactly why they are there.