cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Catalyst 2948G Help

daveenglish
Level 1
Level 1

I am new to Cisco switches and I have purchased a Catalyst 2948G (WS-C2948G used on Ebay and while trying to download documentation on it from Cisco I am finding Catalyst 2948G-GE, 2948G-TX, 2948G-L3. How do I know which one I have? There is no image loaded to it so I don't know if it is a router or just a switch. When I remote to it all I get is rommon. Any help would be appreciated.

8 Replies 8

Ganesh Hariharan
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni
I am new to Cisco switches and I have purchased a Catalyst 2948G
(WS-C2948G used on Ebay and while trying to download documentation on
it from Cisco I am finding Catalyst 2948G-GE, 2948G-TX, 2948G-L3. How
do I know which one I have? There is no image loaded to it so I don't
know if it is a router or just a switch. When I remote to it all I get
is rommon. Any help would be appreciated.

Check out the below cisco 2948G-GE-TX seires image from front panel:-

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/hw/switches/ps606/products_data_sheet09186a00801cfafe.html

Check out the below link for recovering from rommon mode for 2948 switches

http://cisco.biz/en/US/docs/switches/lan/catalyst2948gand4908g/12.0_10_w5_18e/configuration/guide/init_cfg.html

Hope to Help !!

Ganesh.H

Remember to rate the helpful post

Thanks for your reply. It does not look like the

GE-TX in the example you provided, and I already have downloaded the configuration documnet but I don't get the login to start the configuration because no image is installed. So I am trying to figure out which image should be installed? Thanks for your help. Dave

You need to read the 2nd link Reza's posted:

Check out the below link for recovering from rommon mode for 2948 switches
http://cisco.biz/en/US/docs/switches/lan/catalyst2948gand4908g/12.0_10_w5_18e/configuration/guide/init_cfg.html#wp1028303

Reza Sharifi
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Hi Dave,