cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

VMWare Question

lamav
Level 8
Level 8

Why do the source host and destination host need to be on the same subnet/vlan (L2 adj) for vMotion to work?

14 Replies 14

Reza Sharifi
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Victor,

I am no expert when it comes to VMware, but from what I have a heard from the server guys is that in the order for the Vmotion to be able to move from one cluster to another to provide redundancy the subnet has to be the same. Another word this is similar to VRRP and HSRP in the network work and in order for VRRP or HSRP to work properly between 2 routers the subnet has to be the same.

HTH

Reza 

Jon Marshall
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Victor

When a VM moves from one machine to another the machines cannot have different IP addresses because the IP does not change. So they must all be in the same vlan to ensure that the IP does not change.

Jon

Reza, I know you are right, I am asking why.

Jon, I guess you do make a good point -- that if you dont want to break the Application, the IP address of the server must be the same, lest the clients lose connectivity to the app server.

OK, but what if I want to migrate the VM and I dont care if there is a different IP address at the destination because, say, I have down time on the app anyway and it is to remain unreachable while maintenance is going on. Just a hypothetical...

There is a technical requirement with regard to the vmkernel and vCenter, I believe.

Victor

Jon, I guess you do make a good point --  does it hurt that much to say it

OK, but what if I want to migrate the VM and I dont care if there is a different IP address at the destination because, say, I have down time on the app anyway and it is to remain unreachable while maintenance is going on. Just a hypothetical...

Vmotion expects and requires the servers to be in the same layer 2 broadcast domain ie. vlan. So obviously the code has been written based on that assumption.