Views
Helpful
Replies

NCM & Perl Scripting

co-intern
Level 1
Level 1

Hi all,

I am new to NCM but fairly proficient as a script writer and have questions concerning running scripts written in Perl language on NCM. I wrote a simple script that incorporates loops to allow repitition of input. However since NCM generates a form based on the script, I am not sure of what to expect. Any ideas? Thanks for the expected response(s).

5 Replies 5

Jason Davis
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hi Ibuomi,

You can enhance CiscoWorks NCM usage through scripting with Diagnostics (the automation of 'show commands' and other CLI input) or Custom Command Scripts, which can automate 'show commands' or even do config changing work, if you require.

The basics are these - if you don't specify 'Advanced Script', then you're essentially doing a basic script which does not allow a programmatic language.  Perl and TCL/Expect are pre-supplied, but you can incorporate any other command language the underlying operating system can support.  A basic script must execute the native language of managed device and NCM handles all the login and prompt handling.

This would be an example of a non-advanced Diagnostic or custom command script that did something with NTP

===

show ntp association

show ntp status

===

Now, if you want to do something more programmatic with that, like parsing the results and/or taking action, then you'd need to use the Advanced Scripting option and tell NCM you want to use Perl.

At that point you have to handle the device connectivity (spawn a telnet/SSH), handle the logins and prompts from your script.

In the example above we might write a script that does SSH, handles the banner and prompt determination, executes a 'show ntp status' and parses the output for 'Unsynchronized' or 'stratum 16'.