cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco stacking help

The_guroo_2
Level 2
Level 2

guys we have currently 3 cisco 3750 swicthes in a stack the requirment is to add three more into stack.....just wondering can someone tell me do's and dont as i dont want to mess it up as its my first time.....the three new swcithes will be new.....can someone explain steps and important info to share with as i have heard that the new swicth can wipeoff the config of others....thanks heaps

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Hello,

Once you connect the switch to the stack, the stack master will push a copy of the configuration to all the switches. So, all of them will have identical configuration. But you can just access the master switch so you will not be able to see any other configuration. When the master goes down, the next switch that takes over as the master will continue with the current running configuration (one that it got from the master).

As soon as you provision the new switch, the master will add those ports to the configuration. Now, you might want to configure individual ports in appropriate vlans.The interface numbering format will be Switchnumber/0/portnumber (for example Gigabit 1/0/1 is for port 1 of the first switch. Similarly Gigabit 4/0/23 will be for 23rd port of the 4th switch)

interface GigabitEthernet 5/0/1

switchport access vlan

exit

As far as your last question is concerned, it is a good idea to wipe off the configuration from an old switch before attaching it to a running stack. That will ensure that the switch will not interfere with current stack operations.

Hope this helps.

Regards,

NT

View solution in original post

6 Replies 6

Nagaraja Thanthry
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hello,

Here are the steps involved in adding a switch to the stack:

Add a stack member

- Provision the switch on the stack

Switch(config)# switch 2 provision WS-C3750G-12S

Switch(config)# end

- Power off the new switch.