Views
Helpful
Replies

debuging and troubleshooting MST

Rodrigo Belo
Level 1
Level 1

Hi all,

I'm new in MST and configured a switched network with Catalyst 3550, 2960, 2950 on a lab enviroment. The purpose is to test MST before getting it to production to prevent nasty surprises.

I've configured the network with 2 MST instances and everything looks fine exept on the 2950 ( IOS 12.1(22)EA13 ) where I get these messages:

Jul 23 11:18:36.291: STP: MST00 port Fa0/2 agreement from non-root/design

Jul 23 11:18:38.306: STP: MST00 port Fa0/2 agreement from non-root/design

Jul 23 11:18:40.322: STP: MST00 port Fa0/2 agreement from non-root/design

Jul 23 12:03:25.142: MST[0]: Fa0/1 ( designatedportid, fromMyregion 1)

Jul 23 12:03:25.934: MST[0]: Fa0/2 ( designatedportid, fromMyregion 1)

Jul 23 12:03:27.157: MST[0]: Fa0/1 ( designatedportid, fromMyregion 1)

Jul 23 12:03:27.945: MST[0]: Fa0/2 ( designatedportid, fromMyregion 1)

(interfaces Fa0/1 and Fa0/2 are uplinks to 2960s)

Interface        Role Sts Cost      Prio.Nbr Type

---------------- ---- --- --------- -------- --------------------------------

Fa0/1            Altn BLK 200000    128.1    P2p

Fa0/2            Root FWD 200000    128.2    P2p

Spanning Tree:
  Spanning Tree event debugging is on
Multiple Spanning Tree:
  Multiple Spanning Tree topology change notifications debugging is on
  Multiple Spanning Tree boundary port state changes debugging is on
The "debug show spanning-tree mstp boundary" brings these messages, the problem is that there is no boundary since all switches run mst.
It is my understanding that these messages represent BPDUs being exchanged, since they show every 2 seconds (hello timer), but I don't know what they mean and it would be nice to get some documentation about it.
thanks in advance

7 Replies 7

krahmani323
Level 3
Level 3

Hi Rodrigo !