need assist rebuilding raid5 for nss3000

Answered Question
Jul 27th, 2010
User Badges:

ScreenHunter_51.bmpScreenHunter_52.bmpScreenHunter_53.jpgScreenHunter_54.jpgScreenHunter_55.jpgScreenHunter_56.jpg


user was backing up pc drives and attached  4 tb nss3000 storage unit with xp utility backup.

Due to overfilling backup storage capability, backup stalled.

At that point, it was determined that nss3000 storage unit was locked up and was "hard" powered off.

On subsequent repowering of nss3000, the second drive of the quad was shown as out of the raid 5 configuration.

No backup of raid configuration was completed using usb port. User still  has access to gui, and screen shots are attached.

need instructions on how to proceed to rebuild raid 5 drive setup without losing data (approx 500 gb) on the

nss3000 drives.

Correct Answer by Alejandro Gallego about 6 years 8 months ago

Welcome to the Cisco Community.


At this point I would advise to contact the Cisco Small Business Support Center at 866.606.1866 and select the option for Storage.


The best thing to do right now would be to shutdown the NSS via the WebUI just as a precaution. Once the RAID is shown as Stopped we do not have too many options for recovery. Officially the answer would be to delete the RAID and start over. I know this would also destroy all of your data, just stating this to let you know where we are at.


After speaking with Support let us know of the outcome.

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Overall Rating: 5 (1 ratings)
Loading.
Correct Answer
Alejandro Gallego Wed, 07/28/2010 - 06:29
User Badges:
  • Cisco Employee,

Welcome to the Cisco Community.


At this point I would advise to contact the Cisco Small Business Support Center at 866.606.1866 and select the option for Storage.


The best thing to do right now would be to shutdown the NSS via the WebUI just as a precaution. Once the RAID is shown as Stopped we do not have too many options for recovery. Officially the answer would be to delete the RAID and start over. I know this would also destroy all of your data, just stating this to let you know where we are at.


After speaking with Support let us know of the outcome.

Actions

This Discussion