Views
Helpful
Replies

new LAN with Voip, best practices, recommendations

cisco
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

We have to implement a new LAN infrastructure for our new premises and would like to split voice and data traffic and give a certain priority to the voice traffic, using VLAN's and QOS.  The LAN will host computers and IP phones, all servers are in a data center.

As I'm a VOIP newbie I've been reading quite some documentation but I am confused and hope someone can clear things up for me.  The amount of information to go through is quite a lot and I would take less time if I'm pointed to the right direction, examples or documentation.

This is the hardware we have:

-1 cisco asa 5505

-4 cisco catalyst 3560 switches / 24Port POE / 100Mbit

-2 cisco catalyst 3560 switches / 24 Port POE / 1000Mbit

-20 Cisco 7940 series IP phones

-20 Polycom IP phones

.  First of all, having an asa 5505 and 4 3560 switches with 100Mbit ports, what is the best way to interconnect the devices to have the best throughput?  I thought of trunking all VLAN's on 1 port on the asa 5505 and then connect the first switch using a regular ethernet port, afterwards use the SFP uplinks to connect the other switches, but should I connect the switches in a chain or not?

cisco asa 5505 > SW1-1000mbits > SW2-1000mbits > SW3-100mbits > SW4...   ??

> SW2-1000mbit > SW4

cisco asa 5505 > SW1-1000mbit                                                                        ??

> SW3-100mbit > SW5 > ...

other option?