Views
Helpful
Replies

Track Link Status

anthony.dyne
Level 1
Level 1

Hi Guys

I have two links from Sales office to distributor office, Link1 is metro link 30mb, Link2 is mpls from service provider.

Link2 is only needed when Link1 is down. Worse happens when Link1 is down and we notice link2 down as well.

How do I track Link2 Mpls working when Link1 is up and running.

I'm quite new in setting up this. I would appreciate if anybody could  post a sample configuration similar to my needs?

Sales Office

-----------------------

|            |

Metro    MPLS

|            |

|            |

|            |

| ospf     |

\cost5  /ospf cost 25

\        /

--------------------

Distributor

|

Thanks

AD

4 Replies 4

gatlin007
Level 4
Level 4

Anthony,

Chances are you exchange routes with your MPLS service provider with a dynamic routing protocol such as BGP or OSPF.  When the MPLS circuit loses integrity the routing protocol session/adjacency will get interrupted and produce a syslog trap as a result. 

Sending syslog traps to a network management server that can in turn send an email alert or update a dashboard will keep you informed as to the status of routing over the link. 

Of course having your management server simply ping the service provider side of the MPLS circuit may be easier.  Also keep an eye out for syslog traps based on link status; although with some media the customer side link rarely goes down and the problem is in the cloud.  Keying in on the health of the dynamic routing protocol is helpful when the outage is in the cloud between you and your service provider.

If you don't have an management server get one Install a free UNIX/LINUX distro on modest hardware and you'll outdo commercial software in a couple weeks.

Chris

Hi Chris

Thanks for replying the post. You made it look so simple.

The key point on MPLS link "What if something wrong in the MPLS Cloud" not on my router interface or next hop.