Views
Helpful
Replies

Bridge or VLAN

accurisit
Level 1
Level 1

Hi All,

I'm very new to the Cisco environment and am attempting to configure a CISCO 1941 Router (IOS 15) to connect to a newly delivered ISP connection. I was expecting them to configure their device with Private IP addressing between them and me but they've used the first IP address of my range.

I will substitute my Public IP subnet with 10.1.1.0/26 for the purpose of this question.

************************************************************************************************************************************************

ISP Router (10.1.1.1)

Interface Gig 0/0

Cisco 1941

Interface Gig 0/1

Firewall (10.1.1.?)

************************************************************************************************************************************************

Can the Cisco 1941 be configure with a single IP address over the 2 ports (10.1.1.2) and therefore the Firewall will be 10.1.1.3.

I'm presuming either Bridging or VLAN.

RTFM springs to mind but I'm seriously stuck for time.

Any assistance would be greatly received.

Regards

SImon...

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Simon,

Okay, I got it. The exhibit helped very much.

Indeed, the bridging between Gi0/0 and Gi0/1 would be one of the best solutions for you. I was also thinking of making some crazy use of the Proxy ARP but the bridge would be probably the easiest way to go for now.

Try to configure it as follows:

bridge irb

interface Gi0/0

bridge-group 1

interface Gi0/1

bridge-group 1

bridge 1 route ip

interface BVI1

ip address 10.1.1.2 255.255.255.240

... and all necessary IP commands