Views
Helpful
Replies

Switch Stack & Switch Cluster

shahhardik
Level 1
Level 1

Hi All,

I'm quite new in switch stack and switch cluster topic, but for my curiosity to know about it i read it for the first time and understood some basics, I might not have understood whole concept at a strech, but i want to know more about this two concept in the sense...

1. Where exactlly we deploy such scenario in practical world and why we require it?

2. What exact benefit we get if we use Switch stack and Switch cluster in our network?

3. Any thing which can build my concept strong on this two topic.

Thanking you all in advance...

Regards,

Hardik

6 Replies 6

muratg7777
Level 1
Level 1

Hi;

When you stack switches. They work like a single switch or like chassis.  One management ip adress for all stacking members

3750 SW has 64 GBPS stacking throughput so the benefit is throughput here and you won't use UTP or SFP ports of th SW.

Deployment scenario can be redundant. For example you have servers but you want to redandant SW. You can do it with stacking and also configure for cross stack ether channel for bandwidth.

Lots of scenarios can be written but the main benefits are throughput and management

Nagaraja Thanthry
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hello,

Switch clusters are built for easier management. Once a switch becomes part

of a cluster, you do not need separate management interface to manage the

switch. You can manage it through the cluster. So, the members of the

cluster can be physically dispersed throughout the organization. As long as

they are physically connected to each other the clustering will work.

Stacks is a different concept where you are increasing the number of ports

in a switch. Physically, the switch could have only 24/48 ports. However,

once you stack with another switch, the port count increases and both

switches act as one for all purposes. Unlike clustering, once you stack two