Views
Helpful
Replies

ASA 5510 and 5505 Setup

andrew kwayu
Level 1
Level 1

I am new to CISCO!

I currently use MS ISA Server 2006 to protect a windows internal network, where there is also an MS Exchange server. I have acquired a Cisco 5510 to enhance security at main office. Later I will have ASA 5505 for branches, including VPN-ning. Please help in: 

1. to have firewall at main office. I have several public IPs and would like to setup DMZ for Web, Exchange server and FTP. How do I setup interface and sub-interface for the DMZ?
  2. Can I continue using ISA Server connecting to Cisco 5510 on the perimeter? If so, How do I set the interfaces (and sub-interfaces) as well as NAT-ting and access configuration between the inside and outside?

I will appreciate some sample code lines.

Thanks,

Andrew

12 Replies 12

Jitendriya Athavale
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

some basics of nat

https://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/ps6120/products_configuration_example09186a008046f31a.shtml

other than that configuring interfaces for firewall is simple

example

int e0/0

ip address x.x.x.x y.y.y.y

nameif

no shut

security level can be inside outside or dmz

inside being most secure and outside being least secure

if you need to know more here is a link

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/security/asa/asa82/configuration/guide/intro.html

this should give you what you need

please let us know if this resolves your issue

Follow every step in this link to configure the ASA5505 to be able to access the internet from the inside: http://www.firewall.cx/ftopict-7053.html

Follow this for the ASA5510: http://www.networkstraining.com/how-to-configure-a-cisco-asa-5510-firewall-basic-configuration-tutorial/

-KS

Dear Jathaval, Kusankar,