cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Does this cisco switch support dhcp per vlan basis?

poulwittig1990
Level 1
Level 1

My goal is to have a switch where each port is an isolated vlan, but where the switch also acts as dhcp on each port/vlan. I understand that this will require a scope being created for every vlan on the switch. That way all guests can connect their ethernet cable, get a dhcp, be secure from all other guests but still have internet access through the same router everyone else is sharing.

Obviously the switch must support 802.1q, but are there any other special requirements in order to have dhcp running on ever single vlan? I have been considering purchasing this SLM2024 switch but must make sure I will be able to do what I wish before buying it

Thanks in advance!

4 Replies 4

Leo Laohoo
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

My goal is to have a switch where each port is an isolated vlan

I'm no expert of this category of switch but are you talking about Private VLAN?

Hi, Poul.

1. Yes and No.

Switch ports in same vlan will talk other.

If you want, yes you can make each switch port to belong to all different vlans and isolate them, so that your guest can't see each other's traffic.

But, that requires you need to create 24 vlans, 24 SVIs (interface Vlan for inter-vlan routing) and 24 DHCP pools and you need to create ACL to block each vlan not to talk each other through inter vlan routing.

And, SLM2024 doesn't support SVI. Only MLS switches support SVI. Without SVI, then you need to connect a router on a stick to do inter-vlan routing.

As leolaohoo mentioned, you can achieve above goals with private vlan to isolate each port to only itself.

Private vlan makes each port don't talk each other even in same vlan but talk to default gateway.

But, SLM2024 doesn't support private vlan. You need at least 3550 or above.