cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

PRI related confusion

Jonn cos
Level 4
Level 4

Hi all experts. I am new to this telecom world and usually had discussions with my friends working on different vendors (avaya, cisco). Most of the time, alot for concepts went way above my head when they talk about UAN numbers, Master numbers mapped to PRIs, multiple (virually unlimited numbers) can be mapped to PRIs etc. I have done search on google but i am not able to get any of the above concepts anywhere :-( may be my search phrases are not correct. I know its too irrelevant to this forum but i would be grateful if some one can help me out and point me in the right direction as to where i can get these service providers core concepts beyond the PRI signalling type that is discussed in Cvoice etc. Since many of you are telecom experts, i hope you can help me with it. Pls dont mind my request but basically i am not looking for direct explanation above concepts but rather resources where i can learn above and more.

Thanks alot, pls guide me

11 Replies 11

Brandon Svec
Level 7
Level 7

This might help you to understand DID/DNIS: http://www.cisco.com/en/US/tech/tk652/tk653/technologies_tech_note09186a00801142f8.shtml

You may need to ask more specific questions to get better help.  ISDN, PRI, numbering plans, telco, etc. are a large field of knowledge to grasp just as IP, routing, switching, etc. are.

Good luck,

Brandon

-- please remember to rate and mark answered helpful posts --

Dear Brandon,