cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

2801 Routers Voice capable?

Andrew Schulz
Level 1
Level 1

I'm very new to VoIP and have been researching the implementation of VoIP on my network. I have a bunch of questions however I will limit it to a couple. I have 17 locations all with Cisco 2801 routers (IOS v12.4(c1), 61MB flash, 128mb memory) and it appears that IP is the only available feature on my device. Is this okay for Voice? Or do I need to upgrade the IOS or hardware?

13 Replies 13

Felipe Garrido
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Andrew,

the 2801 series router is capable of voice depending on the hardware installed. What exactly do you plan to implement with the 2801s? 12.4(c1) sounds like the boot loader version. If it is the actual IOS version then I would definitely advise upgrading IOS to a newer and supported version. You may also need to change the feature set, identified by either the top line of the show version  output or the filename, from ipbase to either ipvoice or higher. Last I checked the Voice Business Unit recommends 12.4(15)T for any new voice deployments. I would use that as a starting point and upgrade based on specific feature needs.

The hardware may need to be upgraded depending on the purpose. If FXO/FXO or voice T1s are required then DSPs, in the form of PVDM2-xx, will need to be installed.

-Felipe

Thanks for the quick and informative reply Felipe.

We are looking at a new IP phone system, likley Cisco, we currently have a DS3 at HQ that is fragmented out to our 17 locations, single T1 at small locaitons and bonded T1s at larger locations. We ordered 2/24 channel PRI's for the phone system, our primary goal is to simply get IP phones in, nothing really complex at this time. I also need to setup VLANs and QOS which is also new to me. However, I need to figure out if my equipment is capable or if I need to upgrade.