Views
Helpful
Replies

CUCM Subscriber with different OS password from publisher

ichehouri
Level 2
Level 2

Hi,

i have a CUCM cluster (publisher and subscriber) version 7.1.3ASU1 and we added two days ago another subscriber but during the installation it only ask for administrator password. Now i have my new subscriber with same application user name and password but different OS password. Does this have any issue for the replication?? please let me know how to change the password for the OS to be the same as the old servers.

regards,

Ibrahim Chehouri

7 Replies 7

David Hailey
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

So, if I read you correctly:

What you should have is the Pub and the Sub share the Application Administrator and password (e.g., ccmadministrator) which logs you into the CCM Admin interfaces.  This user/password are replicated.

The Platform Administrator is what most commonly refer to as the OS Administrator.  It's generally named something like "administrator" or "admin".  So, you set the Platform Administrator account to the same name but you set the Platform Administrator password differently for the 2 servers.  This doesn't cause an issue as the Platform user/password are not replicated.  So, you can continue with this set up if you want.  If not, it is safe to change the password as well.  Log in to the CLI on the server you want to change the Platform Admin password for and enter:

set password user admin

You will be prompted to enter the old password and then enter the new password twice.

That's it.

Hailey

Please rate helpful posts!

Hi Hailey,