Views
Helpful
Replies

How to Monitor a Cisco IDS 4215 (v6.0)?

paulv_ap_cisco
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I am new to this IDS and need an inexpensive or open source way to collect and store logs from this device.  It seems the device can only store a day or two of its own logs and I need to collect 1 year.  I have Red Hat linux machines at my disposal but can use Windows devices or other forms of Linux if necessary.  It would be great if I could simply have this thing log to a file on a Linux server on the LAN. I can then setup scripts to watch and create reports from the logs.

I have installed the IDM on my Windows workstation and can connect to the IDS but don't see a way to collect logs, fire email alerts or create reports.  Is there something Cisco makes available (without additional purchase) for this?

Thanks,

Paul

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

terrygwazdosky
Level 1
Level 1

For email alerts you can use IPS Manager Express http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/ps9610/index.html I believe it will manage up to 10 IPS sensors.

View solution in original post

Scott Fringer
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Paul;

To follow-up on Terry's comments; Cisco does provide a free (though not open-source) solution called IPS Manager Express.  The current release 7.0.3 supports monitoring up to 10 Cisco IPS sensors (to include IOS IPS configured routers).  IME stores collected IPS events in a local MySQL database (closed schema) and can be configured to store up to 1 million events per file, with a maximum of 400 files.  Depending on event rate, this could last the one year you require.  You can find out more and download IME at:

http://www.cisco.com/go/ime

Please be aware that IME includes the ability to monitor IPS events as well as perform configuration tasks on Cisco IPS sensors.  The configuration capability of IME is limited to IPS sensors running release 6.1 and higher.