Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Unity Connection 7 and LDAP integration

Hello--i've got a client with a Unity Connection VM server.  Initially, they wanted LDAP integration, however, as of now, they do not and want it removed.  I'm new to the client--the engineers that setup the CM and Unity CX servers are no longer available to question.  I believe the users were brought through CM (if that makes sense...still new to this).  I'm hesitant to uncheck the LDAP box and lose everything.  Does importing users from CM make sense even if LDAP integration is turned on or is it still two seperate entities?

6 Replies 6

sopayne
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Check out this Cisco Unity Connection design guide:  http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/voice_ip_comm/connection/7x/design/guide/7xcucdg040.html#wp1069877

"If you have multiple LDAP directory configurations accessing multiple LDAP user search bases, and if only one configuration was deleted, only the users in the associated user search base are affected. Users in other user search bases are still able to log on to Connection web applications.

2. At the first scheduled synchronization, users are marked as "LDAP inactive" in Connection.

Attempts to log on to Connection web applications continue to fail.

3. At the next scheduled synchronization that occurs at least 24 hours after users are marked as "LDAP inactive," all Connection users whose accounts were associated with LDAP accounts are converted to Connection standalone users. "

CUC is flexible in regards to user provisioning.  Using one method does not preclude using another.  This is different from CUCM where you either are LDAP integrated or you are not.  So, to answer your question:

Does importing users from CM make sense even if LDAP integration is turned on or is it still two seperate entities?