cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

DMVPN: HUB Redundancy

raymng
Level 1
Level 1

I am new to DMVPN and is in the process planning for a small (50 spoke) trial setup.

We plan to have two hub routers in two different cities.  At this point, my focus is the redundancy instead of load sharing among them.

My understanding is I can achieve redundancy by:

(option-A) Single DMVPN network with two HUB in it, and do NHRP

(option-B) Two DMVPN networks each with one HUB, and use EIGRP (matrix) so traffic route to backup HUB when primary HUB is gone.

Am I thinking right?  If so, what are the decision factors I should consider between these two options?

Thanks.

5 Replies 5

uwkleinh
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

With a single cloud you only need one mGRE tunnel interface on the spoke with dual hubs you need to allocate an additional netspace for your second tunnel interface on your spoke and your routing may become more complex to setup. You must prevent route leaking on the spoke then.

So for simple hub redundancy I would recommend to use single cloud dual hub with single mGRE tunnel interface on the spoke first.

I summary it all depends how much redundancy you need to build and if you like to utilize mutliple internet facing interfaces as example.

Hope this helps,

Uwe

quote "You must prevent route leaking on the spoke then"

Thanks for the info.

May I ask what is 'route leaking' and how this applies in dual DMVPN clouds setup?

quote "it all depends how much redundancy you need to build"

Under the single cloud two HUB routers with NHRP, what kind of disadvantages/weakness I would have comparing to dual DMVPN setup?

Thanks.

I read in the design document that dual hub single cloud is not recommended:

A dual hub-single DMVPN topology is generally not recommended because it relies on mechanisms outside of the tunnel to determine the appropriate hub for failover.

and