Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco 7911g possibly dead?

thelongmile
Level 1
Level 1

Hello

I've been given a 7911g to try to recover at home. since the company inherited them from a company that was going bust (we don't have Call Manager)

The phone does appear to be attempting to talk to dhcp but doesen't seem to be booting, it just has the message light flashing every few seconds with a blank screen, as if there is no firmware on it at all but the fact it' seems to be looking for dhcp - gives me a little hope

I have purchased the cmterm firmware but since I am doing this at home on a windows box, I'm a little confused as to how I might be able to 'tell' the phone to look for the basic firmware. I've downloaded TFTPD, since that also includes a DHCP server, and I've set a number of different values, including setting option 66, but I have to admit I am a newbie to doing this. So far I have changed the .cop extension to tar.gz and extracted the files into the root of the TFTPD server, but so far have not been able to do anything, I can see from TFTPD logs that there is something making dhcp requests from the mac address of the phone.

Is there any way for me to directly connect to the phone and somehow force the firmware onto it?

Just as a side note I have not done any form of configuring, I've simply extracted the firmware files and that's it.

I appriciate this is a slightly 'dumb' post, since I've never done this before or even touched a tftpd server, it's part of a home project for me to learn config files and start learning the way cisco do things in preperation for the future, but I would very much appriciate any help you can give me. My goal here is to just get the phone back to a working state and then start writing the config files to get it to work with sipgate or asterisk, since there are a few guides for that already.

Many thanks for any help you can give me

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Felipe Garrido
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee