cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

College Internet

RobbieWhits
Level 1
Level 1

I am a student at the University of Buffalo and i am living on campus in the dorms. I have a little bit of technical knowhow and i have done everything to try and get this figured out and this is my last ditch effort to get it resolved. (Please read and help if possible)

We have 2 ethernet ports for me and my room mate. Both of them work when our computers are directly plugged in (We both have MacBook Pro laptops f.y.i.) When connecting to the internet, there is a one time authentication of the computer with our usernames and passwords for the school, both work fine wired straight from the modem.

We when testing the speed of out internet on speedtest.net i get great results through both ports due to the T1 (i believe) school connection and it reads up as out IP and the ISP is "The State University of New York" (if this helps at all)