Views
Helpful
Replies

Lan design

soumik1979
Level 1
Level 1

Dear All

I am a network administrator of a small firm having around 120 users.We are shifting to a new office soon.I am planning the lan with 10 2960 and a 3750 switch.The users applications are

1)Users will acces some file server

2)Internal web server Web server

3)Internet and mail users

I shall divide the entire employee into 5 groups

Now i have some questions.

1)The servers will be connecr to 3750 or in a 2960 switch, which will be better.

2)Internet connection will connect to 3750 or 2960

3)My management wants at some portions of the building there should be wireless lan.It will work as a back up .Now how the uplink of the wireless lan will be connected to wired lan.If each access points has an ip then a separate valn is required the access points.

Please help me .If you want any more feedback plz let me know....

2 Replies 2

Jon Marshall
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

soumik1979 wrote:

Dear All

I am a network administrator of a small firm having around 120 users.We are shifting to a new office soon.I am planning the lan with 10 2960 and a 3750 switch.The users applications are

1)Users will acces some file server

2)Internal web server Web server

3)Internet and mail users

I shall divide the entire employee into 5 groups

Now i have some questions.

1)The servers will be connecr to 3750 or in a 2960 switch, which will be better.

2)Internet connection will connect to 3750 or 2960

3)My management wants at some portions of the building there should be wireless lan.It will work as a back up .Now how the uplink of the wireless lan will be connected to wired lan.If each access points has an ip then a separate valn is required the access points.

Please help me .If you want any more feedback plz let me know....