cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Stupid question about ports on the back of a 2600

sky.oneil
Level 1
Level 1

I am a student and just started cisco learning. I have a Cisco 2600. I have already configured the router using HyperTerminal. There are four ports on the back of the router (FastEthernet 0/0, FastEthernet 0/1, console, and aux). The lab book I followed said to configure FastEthernet 0/0, but it does not say anything about what ports to plug into what after that. My question is what port should I use to connect it to the modem, and what port should I plug in the workstation?? No where in my CCENT book, my lab book, or text book for class does it say what ports are used for what. Thank you very much in advance.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Hi,

I'm glad you've found a document... just let us know if you need anything else...

In the meantime, let me try and summarize a couple of things...

modem ---- (Fa0/0) Router (Fa0/1) ------ Desktop

We need a few things for the desktop to be able to go out into the internet.

Link 1 (Desktop to Router)

1. Desktop should have an ip address.

2. The interface Fa0/1 should have an ip address in the same range as the desktop.

3. If you do a ipconfig on the desktop - you should see it pointing to the ip address of fa0/1

Now you should be able to ping Fa0/1 from the desktop

Link 2 (Router to Modem)

1. Fa0/0 should have an ip address

This generally would be provided by the modem. Try using the command 'ip address dhcp' under fa0/0 and you should get an ip address.

2. A default route from the router towards the modem

Now this could happen in many ways and you'll have to try a couple of things based on the modem.

The modem might be pushing a default route to you in which case...

ip route 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 fa0/0 dhcp

Should give you a default route.

To check whether you have a default route on a router - do a 'show ip route 0.0.0.0' and check whether you have an entry.