cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

WAP4410N stops responding between 1 day and 1 week

EleventhHour
Level 1
Level 1

With over 45,000 views, something must be wrong. Like many of the others here, we can't work out what's wrong with our network and why the cisco 4410n behaves so badly.

Our experience is just like everyone elses. At some point in time, mainly between 1 day and 1 week, the router just stops responding. The problem appears to be on the LAN side, as quite often when it fails, the wireless is still active and clients are associated. Some time ago I was Cisco certified, so I have had faith in Cisco products. I also sold them for a living, which made it a natural choice, but I am struggling to come to terms with my purchase here.

I had tried:

All the latest firmwares from March until now (including the latest)

Full resets of the device, including "reset to factory defaults"

Pegging the autonegotiate to fixed 10/100

Changing channels on the wireless (although as mentioned, it appears LAN side issues)

This thread has given me different views. Other sites also talk about changing beacon settings, but I'm not sure that's the right way to go.I would consider syslogging the results and getting extended debug happening, but when the problem happens and the device hangs, LAN is lost so the messages are also lost.

I find it hard to believe that so many people can have this problem and no one at Cisco can reproduce the fault. So, here's a pretty simple network for Cisco to experiment with which clearly has the problem:

Flat GBit network

Dlink DGS-1016D 16-port GB switch (unmanaged)

4-5 wireless clients (mainly iPhones & iPad)

The volume of traffic is low - no huge file transfers. The expected uptime is between 3-6 days. As a matter of interest, I also tried POE to drive it using a TP-Link injector. The device worked perfectly, but the problem did not seem to be affected.