Views
Helpful
Replies

Connectivity Issue

Cuchullain
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

Im new to troublshooting Wireless issues etc and this is a strange issue, Im not overly sure where to start looking for the cause but here's good as any.

Ive a JetDirect box (HP ew2500) I can Telnet to only from a wireless PC, wired nope (95% of the time).

However sometimes it will work for both. Same AP same PCs.

It appears that the JetDirect box negotiates something when it joins that will stop/allow telnet (and browsing to embedded web server) from a wired PC.

Funny thing is, Ping works all the time for both Wired and Wireless PCs.

DHCP is fine

Wireless security has been ruled out

Wireless PC - AP - Switch....Switch - AP - JD Box = OK

Wired PC - Switch....Switch - AP - JD Box = Not Ok (it fails, pretty much 95% of the time.)

And I havent changed any settings.

If Disconnect/reconnect... its pot luck, like I said, most of the time a wired connection will fail, but sometimes Itll work.

I cant see why the Box should treat a wired/wireless PC differently... unless Wireless and Wired traffic is handled differently?..

3 Replies 3

Federico Ziliotto
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hi Eamonn,

As a very first step, I'd collect a Wireshark trace directly on the PC when connected via wired, so to isolate at which stage of the telnet/http the communication fails.

This would not solve the issue, but it would tell you where it starts failing: for example on the TCP setup process, rather than on the data exchange.

Also, what if you use the following topology?

Wired PC --- swith ... switch --- HP

So without any wireless at all. Does telnet/http still fail?

Hope this helps,

Fede

Hi Federico,

Ignoring the wireless part of the JetDirect box and using just the Ethernet port all is fine.