cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

QoS Question

nshoe18
Level 1
Level 1

I am trying to setup either a Shaper or something that would tell all the traffic to a certain external IP address to be the highest priority for all data going out. However, I have no idea how to do this as I am very very very new to QoS, etc.

Thank you in advance.

3 Replies 3

jonathanaxford
Level 3
Level 3

Hi,

It sounds like this should be possible. Essentially, you need to "Mark" all of the traffic that you wish to prioritise and then ensure that the Marked traffic receives the highest priority on the router interface.

What equipment are you planning on performing this on? Is it a Cisco Router?

Many thanks

Jonathan

I will implementing this on a Cisco 2821 router.

Raphael Wouters
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hello!

Do you mean that you want to mark the traffic so that the external network knows what are the priority packets, or do want to ensure that when there is congestion the priority packets are not delayed/dropped?

The problem when we want to prioritize traffic is that it has to be done where you'll have a "bottleneck". This is where the packets will start to be enqueued, usually that will be in a fifo queue if there is no QoS, and so the priority packets may be delayed unless you prioritize them. If the external network is already doing queueing based on packet marked, you'll just need to mark the packets on the router, if not, you'll have to make sure you don't send that traffic a higher rate than the external network bandwidth.