cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Connect one cisco as a dummy (simple) switch without trunking??

whoffkne11
Level 1
Level 1

So here is the question and then I will elaborate:  Can I connect a cisco 3750 to a switched and vlaned cisco network and have it run just as a simple or dummy switch and ignore vlan information?

I am a beginning network tech, CCENT certified for a large company.  I have to setup an area of the building with a bunch of workstations where there is only one network port going back to one of the main switches that has all of the company vlan information on it.  Normally we would just add more drops to the area and run the back to the network cabinet and patch them in.  Unfortunately we are in code freeze and cannot open a network cabinet except in an emergency.  Normally, even though we hate doing this, we would connect some small netgear dummy switches to the port for these particular workstations, however, because I need like 24 network ports and I need them soon I would have to order a large netgear or daisy chain a couple 16 porters together.  This is horrible practice and I do not want to do that unless I have no other choice.

What I was wondering is if I can use one of the my old 24 port 3750s with the exact same functionality as a netgear?  The problem right now is if I try to, due to our network settings, the two switches will try to trunk and shutdown the port on my working network switch.  Also, I want it to have the same vlan functionality as the netgear where it will run on the one vlan that the uplink is connected to.  The netgears work perfectly without trunking or messing up the port in the network cabinet, the Cisco switch just ignores it and sees all of the devices connected to it as being connected to that one port.  Can I get my extra Cisco 3750 to function exactly the same or is that just a product of the cisco design?