vinodjad1234
Level 2
Level 2

Hi,

I have set-up with below devices :

Wireless LAN controller 5508

LAP 3302i

and ACS 5.1

since i am new in ACS 5.1 configuration , I need so information to go ahead to configure ACS 5.1.

which EAP method to use for wireless client authentication ? what is the best practice ?

I have gone through some cisco documents and it shows that best practice is to configure PEAP but for the same , I need to install certificate in ACS server as well in client PC. is that so ?

I have no clear picture for this certificate ?

from where i can get this certificate or do i need to purchase this certificate separately from cisco. how to install it in ACS server ?

I will be obliged to get atleast initial configuration for ACS 5.1 to enable the EAP method,

I need GUI based initial configuration for ACS 5.1

This mentioned ACS 5.1 is installed on ACS 1121 hardware appliance.

4 Replies 4

Tiago Antunes
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hi,

which EAP method to use for wireless client authentication ? what is the best practice ?

-> I would advise the most widely spread EAP method, which has the best ratio security/easy to deploy: PEAP with MSCHAPv2, which is available by default by all windows machines.

I  have gone through some cisco documents and it shows that best practice  is to configure PEAP but for the same , I need to install certificate in  ACS server as well in client PC. is that so ?

-> You will always need to install a server certificate, however, there is no need for client certificate because the authentication is based on the MSCHAP credentials exchange, not certificate based. The only requirement on the client regarding certificates is the following.

If you want to validate the server certificate, you have to install the server certificate under the trusted CAs of the clients.

If you do not require to trust the server certificate, you can simply disable the option of server certificate validation.