Cisco Unity Connection cluster issue

Unanswered Question
Nov 24th, 2010

Hello,

I have a Cisco Untiy Connection cluster of two servers, one publisher and one subscriber.  They are running software: 7.1.3ES43.33034-43.  Yesterday at about 8:43 I lost connection to the subscriber server.  I could still ping it but was unable to get to it via GUI nor SSH.  I spoke to TAC yesterday and they told me to simply reboot the server.  I was a little concerned about this because I don't want to cause some kind of split-brain effect.  I work in a hospital and it is imperative that the voicemail system stay up.  My only other option would be to do this at 4:00 am on a Sunday.  Any suggestions?

Thanks

I have this problem too.
0 votes
Average Rating: 5 (1 ratings)
David Hailey Wed, 11/24/2010 - 06:57

I wouldn't worry too much about causing a Split-Brain condition.  In fact, a brief period of split-brain is normal during recovery.  In your scenario - I'd go with TAC and reboot the server.  Technically, if you have your ports configured correctly for failover and etc then you should be able to reboot the subscriber at any time.  Here is some additional tidbits on Split-Brain and what it is:

Effects of a Split-Brain Condition

When the servers in a Cisco Unity Connection cluster have Primary status  at the same time (for example, when the servers have lost their  connection with each other), both servers handle incoming calls (answer  phone calls and take messages), send message notifications, send MWI  requests, and accept changes to the administrative interfaces (such as  Connection Administration). However, the servers do not replicate the  database and message store to each other and do not receive replicated  data from each other.