cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

AAA LDAP Configuration for VPN

ciscoisist
Level 1
Level 1

Preface: I am brand new to Cisco Configuration and learning as I go.

I am at the LDAP configuration stage of configuring a VPN on ASA 5520, software version 8.3(1).  Having previously setup and tested RADIUS authentication with success, I sought to use similar logic in setting up LDAP authentication/authorization.  I acquired a service account that would query the AD for the entered user credentials.  My primary resource has been the following manual: Cisco ASA 5500 Series Configuration Guide using the CLI Software Version 8.3.  I had initially done the configurations using ASDM, but could not get testing to succeed.  So I blew away the ASDM configs and went to the CLI.  Following is the configuration.

aaa-server AAA_LDAP protocol ldap
aaa-server AAA_LDAP (inside) host 10.20.30.40
server-port 636
ldap-base-dn domain.ad
ldap-scope subtree
ldap-naming-attribute uid
ldap-login-password 8 *******
ldap-login-dn cn=commonname,ou=ou01,ou=ou02,dc=domain,dc=ad
ldap-over-ssl enable
server-type microsoft
ldap-attribute-map LDAP_ATTRIB

---

tunnel-group ASA_DEFAULT type remote-access
tunnel-group ASA_DEFAULT general-attributes
authorization-server-group AAA_LDAP

---

ldap attribute-map LDAP_ATTRIB
  map-name  MemberOf IETF-Radius-Class
  map-value MemberOf "VPN Users" asa_default

---

I have tested every ldap-naming-attribute alternative listed with the same results.

When I test Authentication using this configuration, I get the following error: ERROR: Authentication Server not responding: AAA Server has been removed

When I test Authorization using this configuration, I get the same error (except for the word Authorization instead of Authentication).

I am at a complete loss.  Any assistance would be appreciated.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions