Views
Helpful
Replies

Multiple devices with the same IP

crlanglois
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I am a test engineer and do not have a ton of networking experience so I'm hoping someone here in the community can help me with some ideas.  I am in a manufacturing test scenario and need to connect multiple  devices with the same IP address (identical hardware all with the same  fixed IP) to one Windows 7 desktop for the purposes of testing.

My switch supports VLAN and I have set up a number of VLANs, 1 for  each device, with the host machine residing in all of the VLANs.  I need  to connect to these devices via SSH, preferably all simultaneously.

I'm thinking this will work except I have no idea how to differentiate ssh traffic to/from any 1 of the VLANs to the host.

I considered setting up virtual NICs on the windows 7 machine and seeing  if it was possible to set up some sort of bridge between a virtual NIC  and a VLAN but I wasn't able to find any convenient software to do this.

I believe that using virtual machines on the host is not a possibility  because I am writing 1 piece of software to communicate to all of the  devices.  Any ideas you might have for me would be appreciated, even ideas that  are along a totally different path than I have taken to accomplish this.

Thanks!

2 Replies 2

crlanglois
Level 1
Level 1

Is my question perhaps outside the scope of this forum?

Hey Christopher,

Interesting question, I see the main problem being that the "testing station" Win7 desktop won't be able to distinguish each device being tested based on IP address alone.

You could run a VM for each test device and statically pin the VMs to specific VLANs, that'd mean a lot of potential overhead running several OS instances for what I presume is a simple application, and running multiple instances of your test software which I understand is outside your requirements.