Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco 887 Router and VPN

omnitechsys
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I've just bought a Cisco 887 Router and i've deployed it to replace my client's exisiting ADSL router. I've configured it using Cisco CP, and it's working properly. I'm trying to setup the router for VPN connectivity, so that the users who use laptops can work from outside our office. I've gone through the wizard to setup an Easy VPN Server for client access and I've setup the Pre-Shared Key and IP Range. I was trying to download the Easy VPN client the site says I need some sort of agreement to be added to our exisiting partnership account. I was able to find download links after some googling, but none of the clients, during connection setup ask for a Pre-Shared Key. So I know I'm going wrong somewhere.

I'm a newbie at this, so any kind of help would be really appreciated.

Thanks,

Arun

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Arun,

You need to have a valid CCO account with download rights to get the VPN client.

If you already have the client you need to set the group name and password (pre-shared key) to connect.

Federico.

View solution in original post

Maykol Rojas
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hi Arun,

Yes you need the cisco VPN Client in order to connect right?  When you click on New, a lot of fields display

Connection Entry

Description

And Host

The first two can be whatever you want, the Host has to be the IP of the router where the clients are going to connect.

Check where it says Group Authentication. Where it says Name go ahead and put the group name that you create for your EZVpn. Where it says password, thats where you use the pre-shared key.

Once you have those fileds done, you will be able to connect.

Hope it helps.

Mike

Mike

View solution in original post

5 Replies 5

Arun,

You need to have a valid CCO account with download rights to get the VPN client.