cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Help with TCL scripts to do show commands

gwhuang5398
Level 2
Level 2

I need to log into about 60 routers, run the same show commands on each router, and copy each router's outputs as a file on my workstation. Can someone provide a sample TCP script to do those things? I'm not good at programming.

Greatly appreciated.

18 Replies 18

Joe Clarke
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Here's a simple example using TFTP.  Save this to cmd.tcl.

set output [exec "show ip int brief"]

set fd [open "flash:/ip_int.txt" "w"]

puts $fd $output

close $fd

ios_config "file prompt quiet" "end"

copy flash:/ip_int.txt tftp://10.1.1.1/ip_int.txt

ios_config "no file prompt quiet" "end"

file delete -force "flash:/ip_int.txt"

This is executed with the command:

tclsh flash:/cmd.tcl

I should say that this is a Tcl script on IOS.  I assumed that's what you meant since you said Tcl.  However, if you're looking to automate the collection from the central workstation, you really need an Expect script on that workstation.  I wasn't clear exactly what you were looking for.

Thanks a lot Joseph. I was referring to TCL. Didn't know anything about Expect script. What I'm trying to do is to simplify my manual work to collect show outputs from about 60 routers. I need to store each router's outputs as an individual file on my computer. The show commands are mostly show version, show ip int brief, show ip protocol, show ip bgp summary, etc.

When using TCL, if to write output of multiple show commands to the same file on router flash, is it keyword "append" to do it?

To use TCL, I need to log into routers first, can that step be automated too? I only have putty, not Secure CRT.

Thanks a lot

Gary

Expect will make your life a lot easier in cases like this. Expect utilizes the TCL language, and all of its commands (as well as some of its own). So what you know in TCL, you essentially can port over to Expect scripts.