Views
Helpful
Replies

VPN MPLS best practices to use it

jquintard
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

My company have subscribe a VPN MPLS to interconnect two sites. The ISP I have choose install one router on each side and set QoS on this link (70% VoIP, 20% Data and 10% access). On each side I have a DSL link for classic Internet access. I'm a newbie in VPN so I have some questions to integrate this link in my network.

1. I suppose this link is like an L2 and transport VLAN on each side ?

2. Is this possible/a good practice to centralize service like DHCP/DNS/AD on the central site ? I use Microsoft DHCP.

3. What is the settings I need to use for the VoIP part ?

If you have conf or example to help me, thanks.

Jerome

5 Replies 5

Sakun Sharma
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

VPN MPLS can be implement on either Layer 2 and Layer 3. If Serial link or phone link is used then Layer 3 VPN MPLS is implemented or if Ethernet cable used then Layer 2.

In case of VPN MPLS your end routers at both sites which connect to ISP routers are knows as Customer Edge (CE) routers and ISP routers are known as Provider Edge (PE) routers.

For your network, PE routers will be invisible and direct relationship will be formed between your both CE routers. PE's will simply encapsulate your packet in MPLS packet and forward to other end's PE which will de-encapsulate MPLS packet and send to your CE router at that site.

In case of AD / DNS and DHCP its better you have servers at each site and syncronize those servers with each other over your VPN link, because it will not only require more bandwidth requirement also delay will be increased as compared to local network.

In case of VoIP firstly you need to enable CDP (if disabled) to discover phone on switch to which IP phone will be attached, also you need to configure Voice VLAN and QoS with trust boundries as per your requirement.

--

Regards

Sakun Sharma