Need help configuring 1841 Router with a WIC-ADSL1 Module

Unanswered Question
Aug 17th, 2011

Hello folks...

I am new to using this forum so please bare with me...

I only know a little about programming a CISCO router but I know the config I setup is not working...

Here is what I want to do...

• The ISP provides us with IP Addresses via DHCP. Our public address is NOT static so the interface on the DSL Module needs to be provisioned to get a DHCP address with a CLASS C License.
  • The IP address of the Router should be 10.0.0.10 subnet=255.255.255.0
  • The LAN Clients need receive their IP address via DHCP EXCEPT for a range of 100 addresses. The lan Clients only need about 40 DHCP addresses.
  • ONE of the Lan Clients (10.0.0.3) needs to have ports 25, 1723, and others forwarded to it.

Below is the config I am trying to use but I can't even ping the router from the LAN. What am I doing wrong?

Can anyone tell me how to fix this and can you send examples or even rewrite my config for me? I would be grateful!

Please advise...

Dale Allen

I have this problem too.
0 votes
Average Rating: 5 (1 ratings)
Peter Paluch Wed, 08/17/2011 - 08:32

Dale,

Paste these commands directly to your router after being in the global configuration mode (you call it up using the configure terminal command):

ip routing

ip cef

interface FastEthernet0/0

ip route-cache

ip route-cache cef

duplex auto

end

I also have a question: Your ADSL PPP configuration is currently performed in the PPPoA style. There is also a more common approach used, the PPPoE. You have to verify with your ISP what kind of PPP is used, as these two encapsulations are not compatible nor interchangeable. Also, is the PVC 0/35 correct? Again, this must be verified against your ISP as there is no default setting.