Views
Helpful
Replies

About Jobs in UK for young foreigners

vlad.vlaicu
Level 1
Level 1

Hello all!

I am young networking enthusiast. I am relatively new in the business with CCNA and CCNA Voice certifications. My plan for 2 years is to take Comptia Linux+, CCNP and hopefully CCIP or other small related certifications. After this period, I am planning to move to UK to work in the field.

Is there anyone here who can give us young professionals some tips on this issue. Such as, what are the chances for foreigners to get a job in the UK, what are the most requested certifications there and so on.

Any ideas or comments are well appreciated.

Have an excellent day,

Vlad (Romania)

5 Replies 5

James Hawkins
Level 8
Level 8

Hi Vlad,

The UK job market is very open to foreign nationals but competition can be fierce. If you want to work for a Cisco partner then having Cisco certifications may get you an interview but you will need to show that you have good experience and communications skills (verbal and written) as well to succeed.

Re. certifications to pursue I think CCNP would be good and then CCVP rather than CCIP as there are probably more jobs needing voice skills than the CCIP skills.

Initially you would probably be best looking at jobs working in a support role and then maybe look to move to a design or implementation role once you have some experience of working in the UK.

James, thank you for your reply. It was exactly the kind of answer I was hoping for. I am expecting the competition to be fierce, but one of the things i was afraid of was not being offered a fair chance. Now that I know this, I can go on with my plans I am currently working as a Test Engineer on WiMax devices. What do you think about the wireless field in UK. Is it worth pursuing wireless certifications ? Or yet better security?

Vlad